Skip to content

Music Craving: Sufjan Stevens – “What’s the point of making music anymore?” From Full Interview

October 14, 2009

sufjan interview

Sufjan Stevens was recently interviewed by VishKhanna.com and revealed that although the rumors are not true that he will be retireing, he does have a certain animosity towards music and what seems like life in general at the moment.

Some quotes:

– “What’s the point of making music anymore? I feel that the album no longer has a stronghold or has any real bearing anymore.”

– “…me versus my work, y’know? And I don’t think I can win; I feel like it’s a losing battle…”

– “But for myself, I definitely feel a kind of claustrophobia because of the excess in our culture and the availability of so much.”

Is Sufjan now playing the role of Conor Oberst?

Via.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 5:52 pm

    Vish Khanna. My name is Vish Khanna.

    • October 14, 2009 7:10 pm

      My sincere apologies for the typo. That’s awesome how you got to interview Sufjan though. I am extremely jealous.

Leave a Reply

